Marie Brennan

Marie Brennan is the author of the Onyx Court series of London-based historical faerie fantasies: Midnight Never Come, In Ashes Lie, A Star Shall Fall, and With Fate Conspire, as well as the upcoming adventure A Natural History of Dragons and the new contemporary fantasy Lies and Prophecy. Her stories have appeared multiple times in Beneath Ceaseless Skies, including two set in the world of the Onyx Court novels and three set in her Driftwood world (“Driftwood” in BCS #14 and the anthology The Best of BCS, Year One and “Remembering Light” in BCS #44 and The Best of BCS, Year Two). She has published more than thirty other short stories in venues such as On Spec, Intergalactic Medicine Show, and the acclaimed anthology series Clockwork Phoenix. More information can be found on her website:

Stories by Marie Brennan:
“The Ascent of Unreason”Issue #104, September 20, 2012

"pure adventure, celebrating the wonder that is Driftwood" —Lois Tilton, Locus online

“Dancing the Warrior, Pt. II”Issue #67, April 21, 2011

Honorable Mention, Year's Best SF 29 (ed. Gardner Dozois)

“Dancing the Warrior, Pt. I”Issue #66, April 7, 2011

Honorable Mention, Year's Best SF 29 (ed. Gardner Dozois)

“Two Pretenders”Issue #60, January 13, 2011
“And Blow Them at the Moon”Issue #50, August 26, 2010

"Brennan does an excellent job weaving fantasy and history into a seamless plot." —Tangent Online

“Remembering Light”Issue #44, June 3, 2010
“Driftwood”Issue #14, April 9, 2009
“Kingspeaker”Issue #3, November 6, 2008

Podcasts by Marie Brennan:
BCS 089: The Ascent of UnreasonIssue #104, September 20, 2012
BCS 052: Two PretendersIssue #61, January 27, 2011
BCS 044: And Blow Them at the MoonIssue #51, September 9, 2010
BCS 040: Remembering LightIssue #45, June 17, 2010
BCS 013: DriftwoodIssue #16, May 7, 2009
BCS 003: KingspeakerIssue #5, December 4, 2008

Audio Vault Podcasts by Marie Brennan:
BCS Audio Vault 015: The Ascent of UnreasonIssue #166, January 29, 2015

Articles by Marie Brennan:
Marie Brennan on Writing "Dancing the Warrior"Issue #66, May 12, 2012